Complaints performance

Our quarterly complaints performance

It’s important to us that our customers are fully satisfied and happy with the service they receive.

It’s why we are constantly reviewing our performance and striving to improve ourselves as a supplier.

We publish our complaints information quarterly to ensure you know exactly how we’re getting on.

To see our Annual Complaints Summary, click here.

2016: Quarter Two (Q2)

Below is our complaints performance from April to June 2016.

2016: Q2
Complaints received Complaints received per 100k customers Complaints resolved Complaints resolved per 100k customers % resolved same or next working day % resolved within 8 weeks
933 649 989 688 46% 99%
* figures rounded to nearest whole percent/number

2016: Q2

Complaints received
933
Complaints received per 100k customers
649
Complaints resolved
989
Complaints resolved per 100k customers
688
% resolved same or next working day
46%
% resolved within 8 weeks
99%

* figures rounded to nearest whole percent/number

Top five reasons for complaints (Q2)

* figures rounded to nearest whole percent

What we’re doing to put things right

In Quarter two 2016 we saw a significant fall in the number of complaints we received compared to the previous quarter. We invested in the training of the front line staff to support the growth of our customer base and mantain our target of answering the majority of calls within 60 seconds. We are constantly striving to resolve inquries and complaints as quickly as possible, delivering fair outcomes for our customers. Our focus continues to ensure our switching process is simple and transparent. 

2016: Quarter One (Q1)

Below is our complaints performance from January to March 2016.

2016: Q1
Complaints received Complaints received per 100k customers Complaints resolved Complaints resolved per 100k customers % resolved same or next working day % resolved within 8 weeks
1341 1232 1274 1170 25% 99%
* figures rounded to nearest whole percent/number

2016: Q1

Complaints received
1341
Complaints received per 100k customers
1232
Complaints resolved
1274
Complaints resolved per 100k customers
1170
% resolved same or next working day
25%
% resolved within 8 weeks
99%

* figures rounded to nearest whole percent/number

Top five reasons for complaints (Q1)

* figures rounded to nearest whole percent

What we’re doing to put things right

In quarter one 2016, we saw a fall in the number of complaints received, compared to the previous quarter. We built on our sales policies and procedures, which further improved the sales experience, helping to ensure our switching process continued to be simple and transparent.

Investment in our frontline staff and training continued to ensure we are constantly aiming to resolve enquiries and complaints quickly, while treating our customers fairly. During this quarter, we answered 89.95% of our calls within 60 seconds.

2015: Quarter Four (Q4)

Below is our complaints performance from October to December 2015.

2015: Q4
Complaints received Complaints received per 100k customers Complaints resolved Complaints resolved per 100k customers % resolved same or next working day % resolved within 8 weeks
1536 1641 1578 1686 28% 100%
* figures rounded to nearest whole percent/number

2015: Q4

Complaints received
1536
Complaints received per 100k customers
1641
Complaints resolved
1578
Complaints resolved per 100k customers
1686
% resolved same or next working day
28%
% resolved within 8 weeks
100%

* figures rounded to nearest whole percent/number

Top five reasons for complaints (Q4)

* figures rounded to nearest whole percent

What we’re doing to put things right

During quarter 4 2015, we continued to invest in frontline staff to support the growth in our customer base and maintain our target of answering the majority of calls within 60 seconds. We are constantly striving to resolve enquiries and complaints as quickly as possible, delivering fair outcomes for our customers.

During the winter, we normally receive a higher level of complaints, compared with the previous quarter. In quarter 4 2015, we received fewer complaints per 100,000 customers, compared to the same quarter the previous year.

In quarter 4 2015, we gained a significant number of new customers. We continued to develop our internal processes and training of front line staff to make the switching process as simple and as transparent as possible.

2015: Quarter Three (Q3)

Below is our complaints performance from July to September 2015.

2015: Q3
Complaints received Complaints received per 100k customers Complaints resolved Complaints resolved per 100k customers % resolved same or next working day % resolved within 8 weeks
884 1212 794 1088 25% 94%
* figures rounded to nearest whole percent/number

2015: Q3

Complaints received
884
Complaints received per 100k customers
1212
Complaints resolved
794
Complaints resolved per 100k customers
1088
% resolved same or next working day
25%
% resolved within 8 weeks
94%

* figures rounded to nearest whole percent/number

Top five reasons for complaints (Q3)

* figures rounded to nearest whole percent

What we’re doing to put things right

During quarter 3, we continued to develop and invest in training across the business including sales; expanded our customer service operations; and continued development of our quality monitoring, systems, reporting, policies and procedures to ensure any identified issues were dealt with swiftly. We also continued to progress our smart meter plans.

With the majority of our customers using prepayment meters, we usually see an increase in calls towards the end of quarter 3 from people who’ve built up a standing charge debt by not topping up their gas in the warmer summer months. We continued to monitor and train our team members, so they could help educate customers to top up across the year and build up a credit on their meters to avoid a build-up of standing charge debt.

During this time, we also gained a significant amount of new customers. We continued to ensure, through training and quality processes, that switching is as simple and transparent for our customers as possible, and work with the industry to ensure that customers are not impacted by the retention activity of some established suppliers.

2015: Quarter Two (Q2)

Below is our complaints performance from April to June 2015.

2015: Q2
Complaints received Complaints received per 100k customers Complaints resolved Complaints resolved per 100k customers % resolved same or next working day % resolved within 8 weeks
405 621 483 740 41% 96%
* figures rounded to nearest whole percent/number

2015: Q2

Complaints received
405
Complaints received per 100k customers
621
Complaints resolved
483
Complaints resolved per 100k customers
740
% resolved same or next working day
41%
% resolved within 8 weeks
96%

* figures rounded to nearest whole percent/number

Top five reasons for complaints (Q2)

* figures rounded to nearest whole percent

What we’re doing to put things right

We continued with our aim to provide an excellent experience to our customers. During this quarter, we continued to implement and invest in training; developed quality monitoring processes across the business; proactively gained feedback for improvement; continued development of our reporting systems; and continually reviewed and revised our policies and procedures.

false